I’ve been meaning to start a blog for years.  My assumption is that many people begin their first blog post this way, but that doesn’t make it any more true.  I think many of us find it difficult to put ourselves out there behind an actual name – not just a username on Reddit we can comment on anything from (I do love Reddit though) anonymously.  I just finished reading a book called “The Art of Asking” by Amanda Palmer – lead singer of the Dresden Dolls and many other creative exploits.  She worked as a street performer for years and I was struck by her willingness to put herself in the way of possible embarrassment, shame (which did happen) and sadness.  What she also experienced however, and what kept her going, was love, acceptance and understanding.  That’s what I am hoping for with this blog – to be heard, to be “seen” as Amanda puts it.  Thanks for listening so far.

-Anna